Wednesday, August 14, 2019

APBP Lifetime Achievement Awards

The Association of Pedestrian and Bicycle Professionals Lifetime Achievement Award:

"The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes an individual who has made a substantial commitment to the profession during his or her lifetime and who has shown excellence in the field of bicycle and pedestrian planning, design, advocacy, and/or education. The award distinguishes those whose vision and determination have made their communities better places to bicycle and walk and who inspire the rest of us. This award is open to both APBP members and non-members who have contributed to our profession. A person may be nominated posthumously, after retirement, or while still working in the field."

Over half of the winners have appeared on "Perils For Pedestrians".  (To go directly to an interview on any of the YouTube videos, click on the timecode in the individual video description on YouTube.)

Lifetime Achievement Award Winners:

2019  Sally Flocks, President and CEO of PEDS 
(PFP 28, 5th segment)

2018  Randy Wade, AICP, former director for Pedestrian Projects Group with the New York City Department of Transportation

2017  Norma Moores, P. Eng., Associate and Manager, Active Transportation, IBI Group

2016  Barbara McCann, Director, Office of Safety, Energy and Environment for the U.S. Department of Transportation

2015  Deb Hubsmith, Founder, Safe Routes to School National Partnership
(PFP 135, 1st segment)

2014  Jeff Olson, RA, Principal, Alta Planning + Design
(PFP 131, 7th segment)

2013  Anne Lusk, PhD, Research Scientist, Harvard School of Public Health

2012  Charles Zegeer, Director, Pedestrian and Bicycle Information Center (PBIC), UNC-HSRC
(PFP 71, 1st segment)

2011  Mary Paul Meletiou, Bicycle and Pedestrian Program Manager (retired), NC-DOT and ITRE

         Tom Huber, Bicycle and Pedestrian Coordinator (retired), WI DOT

2010  Lois Thibault, Director of Research (retired), U.S. Access Board, Washington, D.C.
(PFP 138, 1st segment)

2009  Bettina Zimny, Director of Planning, The RBA Group, Morristown, N.J.

2008  Suzan Pinsof, Principal, Suzan Anderson Pinsof & Associates, Chicago, IL

          Linda Crider, Executive Director, Bike Florida
(PFP 82, 2nd segment)

2007  Michael Ronkin, Founder and Principal, Designing Streets for People
(PFP 15, 2nd segment)

2006  Bill Feldman, Manager, Bicycle and Pedestrian Projects, The RBA Group, Morristown, N.J.

2005  John LaPlante, Director of Traffic Engineering, T.Y. Lin International, Chicago, IL
(PFP 60, 3rd segment)

2004  Bill Wilkinson, Executive Director, National Center for Bicycling and Walking, Bethesda, MD
(PFP 4, 6th segment)

         John Williams, Editor and Senior Planner, National Center for Bicycling and Walking, Bethesda, MD
(PFP 63, 3rd segment)

2003  Andy Clarke, President, League of American Bicyclists, Washington, D.C.  (Distinguished Service)
(PFP 77, 4th segment)

2002  John Fegan, FHWA, Washington, D.C.
(PFP 74, 4th segment)

2001  Peter Lagerwey, Senior Transportation Planner, City of Seattle, WA
(PFP 240, 2nd segment)

2000  Dan Burden, Founder, Walkable and Livable Communities (WALC) Institute
(PFP 240, 1st segment)

Monday, August 5, 2019

Construction in Bethesda - Tower Cranes

There is a lot of construction going on in Bethesda, Maryland.  Eventually it will result in a lot of jobs and housing within walking distance of the Purple Line and Red Line stations.  In the meantime, the sidewalk closings are a major inconvenience for pedestrians, often requiring pedestrians to cross major streets multiple times to get to their destination.

For those who are curious, this is what the foundation for a tower crane looks like.  The four mounting points are set in several feet of concrete.

And here is the process of the tower cranes being erected at the site of the new Marriott International Headquarters Building.